PG Accomodation

Paying Guest Accomdation: the place where you learn that the meaning of „hot water“ sligthly differs from one country to another

Till now I’ve been staying in a very nice, but expensive hotel. It’s not that easy to find a convincing apartment in Bangalore, and to gain some more time for the search, I switched to a PG accommodation. These are very common types of Bed and Breakfast hostels in India. Mostly you’ll have families who offer rooms in their upper floor for rent. Usually it’s very cheap, but just as general, I pay “western prices” (at least double than normal price, kind of a “white tax” I call it).

I like to show you some pictures, because you can see very clear differences to our German norm:

PG Bathroom

This is a common indian Bathroom. It’s even higher classed because it has a „geyser“, which means a western alike toilet.

As related to my sanitary work I talk about toilets and hygiene related issues all the time, I couldnt help but showing you the "cleaning utensils" you use. Notice: no Toilet Paper... you have a guess? ;-)

As related to my sanitary work I talk about toilets and hygiene related issues all the time, I couldnt help but showing you the „cleaning utensils“ you use. Notice: no Toilet Paper… you have a guess?😉

Here you have a very commen indian shower. Nothing special, but working. But notice: if an Indian tells you there's hot water provided, it's maximum not freezing. Thank god this is such a hot country!

Here you have a very common indian shower. Nothing special, but working. But notice: if an Indian tells you there’s hot water provided, it’s maximum not freezing. Thank god this is such a hot country!

And these are the dormitorys:

notice: I’m so lucky I’ve bought a silk inlet sleeve for my sleeping bag, it now serves me as a hygienic blanket & I’m happily not sharing my room

Shared PG Bedroom

Shared PG Bedroom

I talked to some Indian people and visited lots of PG accommodations. Many of them are full with Indian people, my colleague has been living in a PG for 1,5 years. It seems to me like it’s very normal to live like this for a little time in your life, especially when you’re far from home. Since people here stay with their family until they’re married, young men won’t ever learn how to cook and are really glad to have such kind of service apartment.

Referred to me: I hope I’m just going to stay for a couple of weeks until I have a nice apartment🙂

Schreibe einen Kommentar

